Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I had an epiphany-

Let’s go back to school!

Yeah, I don’t know what drugs I was on, either.

Not that continuing your education is a bad thing. In many cases it’s exactly what I would suggest for anyone who feels stagnant or feels like they have more potential than what they’re doing right now. In my case, that wasn’t the situation by any means. Now yes, I do feel stagnant at times…and yes, I do feel like I have more potential than what I’m doing…BUT…what the “unless…” is that I usually use for people is the following: “Go back to school UNLESS you are already working more than you ought to be or feel like you’re already doing more than you ought to be doing…”

Needless to say, I can be very spontaneous. I can also be very over the top. I can also fail to stop and think before I jump on a solution. Knowing these facts, I can assume you know exactly what happened.

Yep…I enrolled.

You see, what I forgot about school was all the prep work that goes into it. I don’t mind the actual work of school- especially when you tell me I only have to take one class at a time. What I mind is “hurry up and do this” and then “now you have to wait for that to process, just hold on”- rinse and repeat. I just want to fill out a paper and be done. Let’s move on already. Send me a bill. Let’s GO people!

So now we play the waiting game. Which again, isn’t a bad thing. It forces me to have patience, which I obviously don’t have much of to begin with these days. And meanwhile it allows me to concentrate on all the other stuff I’m doing at work.

Like I mentioned in a previous post, I do a lot of auditing these days. It’s not a bad job and in fact I enjoy it- but don’t tell my bosses that. I also chair our UBC (unit based council for Shared Governance) which is fun. Time consuming, but fun…another thing I enjoy. I love being a part of UBC, trust me. The problem is that sometimes I feel like I love it a little too much. I’m very overzealous compared to my counterpart members. This results in me having a lot of ideas with not a lot of participation. I have some that are just as involved as I am, and then we have others that are not so much…which is okay! I just need to be reminded sometimes that not everyone is as passionate about the same things that I am.

For example…we’ve started something called a “Level 2 Fall Risk”. I LOVE it, by the way. We basically are admitting that every one of our patients is a fall risk, but that SOME of them are a HIGHER fall risk than others. Some know how to turn off their bed alarms. Some are very impulsive. And to be honest, some are just too damn fast and beat us out of the bed before we can even run to their room. With a level 2 risk, we increase the zone on their alarms. Boom, baby. It’s a great idea in theory. It’s a great idea overall…if the alarm is turned on to begin with or if the team knows they are a level 2 risk. I have faith it will be great…eventually. Meanwhile I’ll keep doing audits and keep telling my boss the problems and keep shaking my head when I find a level 2 patient with no bed alarm on at all.